COMMISSIONERS Steve Glass, Region I Ross Garcia, Jr., Region II Jennie Bierner, Region II Boe Lopez, Region IV Clint Harden, Region V Eddie Vigil, Region VI Cyle Sharp, At-Large Soil and Water Conservation Commission MSC APR P. O. Box 30005 Las Cruces NM 88003-8005 Telephone (575) 646-2642 Fax (575) 646-1540



New Mexico Soil and Water Conservation Commission (SWCC) Meeting Via teleconference (per COVID-19 restrictions) Tuesday, June 22, 2021 9:00 am Minutes All items for discussion and possible action

- 1. Call to Order and Roll Call: Commissioners Garcia and Harden were absent; all other commissioners present (roll call taken).
- 2. Approval of Agenda: Commissioner Glass moved to approve the agenda. Commissioner Lopez seconded and the motion passed by all commissioners present (via roll call vote).
- Approval of Previous Meeting Minutes (05/07/2021): Commissioner Glass moved to approve the minutes. Commissioner Sharp seconded and the motion passed by all commissioners present (via roll call vote).

New Business

- 4. Public Comment (2 minutes per person): none
- Guadalupe Boundary Modification Request: Commissioner Garcia joined the meeting at this point. Commissioner Lopez moved to approve the boundary modification. Commissioner Glass seconded and the motion passed by all commissioners present except Commissioner Garcia who was unable to unmute so gave no vote (via roll call vote).
- 6. Mil levy resolutions:
 - Mora-Wagon Mound \$1.00
 - East Rio Arriba \$1.00
 - Upper Chama \$1.00
 - Socorro \$1.00
 - Mesa \$1.00
 - Hagerman-Dexter \$1.00

•	Sierra	\$1.00
•	Guadalupe	\$1.00
•	Taos	\$1.00
•	Tierra Y Montes	\$1.00
•	Chaves	\$1.00
•	East Torrance	\$1.00
•	Upper Hondo	\$0.50
•	Edgewood	\$1.00
•	Carrizozo	\$1.00
•	Carlsbad	\$0.70
•	Penasco	\$1.00
•	Central Valley	\$0.50
•	Cuba	\$1.00
•	Lava	\$1.00
•	Caballo	\$1.00
•	Valencia	\$0.25
•	Western Mora	\$1.00

Commissioner Sharp moved to approve the mil levy resolutions. Commissioner Bierner seconded and the motion passed by all commissioners present except Commissioner Garcia who was unable to unmute so gave no vote (via roll call vote).

- 7. Appointed Supervisor Approvals:
 - Cuba: Ricardo Duran (6), Frank Chacon (7)
 - Colfax: Andy Yates (6), Kimberly Barmann (7)
 - Upper Hondo: Lela Wright (6), David Cox (7)
 - Sierra: Randy Coil (6), Willard Hall (7)
 - East Torrance: Jason Brumley (6), Patrick Pachta (7).
 - Chaves: John Sisk (6), Aubrey Dunn (7))
 - San Juan: Steve Wamel (6), Leo Pacheco (7)
 - Southwest Quay: Tom Sidwell (6), Kandy Hutchens (7)
 - Roosevelt: Sharon Davis (6), Kendell Buzard (7)

- Lava: Anthony Martinez (6), Raymond Mark Salazar (7)
- Otero: Richard Baish (6), James Evrage (7)
- Edgewood: Juan Sanchez (6), Jim Frost (7)
- Carrizozo: Lee Sultemeier (6), Kendal Wilson (7)
- Claunch-Pinto: Jack Lockridge (6), Susan Dale Rose (7)
- Guadalupe: Earl Sena (6), Mary Baca (7)
- Grant: Johnny Reed (6), Niel McDonald (7)
- Caballo: Slim Whitlock (6), Harvey Morrow (7)
- Hidalgo: Miera Gault (6), Walt Anderson (7)
- Carlsbad: Fred Beard (6), Henry Vasquez (7)
- Deming: Will Shafer (6), Jaime Viramontes (7)
- Penasco: Camille Graham-Figueroa (6), Bernard Cleve (7)
- Central Valley: Jason Patton (6), Lance Conklin (7)
- Dona Ana: Dave Lowry (6), Joshua Sanchez (7)
- Taos: George Long (6), Mary Lane Leslie (7)

Commissioner Sharp moved to approve the appointed supervisors. Commissioner Lopez seconded and the motion passed by all commissioners present except Commissioner Garcia who was unable to unmute so gave no vote (via roll call vote).

- 8. WQ&C FY22 Grant Review Subcommittee Funding Recommendations: Commissioner Glass moved to approve the funding recommendations. Commissioner Bierner seconded and the motion passed by all commissioners present except Commissioner Garcia who was unable to unmute so gave no vote (via roll call vote).
- 9. HSP Grant: Katie Goetz (NMDA) provided an update too the HSP grant.

Old Business

- FY22 Point System: Commissioner Garcia moved to approve the FY22 point system worksheet. Commissioner Glass seconded and the motion passed by all commissioners present (via roll call vote).
- Potential Executive Session Pursuant to Section 10-15-1-H NMSA of the New Mexico Open Meetings Act for Zoning Lawsuit Appeal: The SWCC didn't go into executive session.

Reports/Verbal Highlights (5 min. each; written reports required 72 hours in advance)

12. Commissioners: Commissioner Glass reported region I held a regenerative ag fair in the village of Los Ranchos with Ciudad, Valencia, and Coronado; Cuba is hosting the NMACD region I meeting in July; San Juan is working on the construction of a new office building; Ciudad and Bernalillo county conducted webinars on rainwater harvesting with the WQ&C grant.

Commissioner Garcia reported East Rio Arriba is hosting the NMACD region II meeting, and partnering with Upper Chama on the CWMA.

Commissioner Bierner reported Sierra hired 2 summer interns and will host a summer camp for kid aged 11-14 that focuses on ranch mgt, agritourism, and farming.

Commissioner Lopez had no report at this time

Commissioner Vigil reported Upper Hondo had a 100-year over Memorial Day weekend that killed one person, and the governor declared a disaster in the area; the rest of the region is dry.

Commissioner Sharp had no report at this time

13. Governor's Office: none

New Mexico Department of Agriculture: Mr. Wanstall and Katie Mechenbier gave the NMDA report.

- 14. Natural Resources Conservation Service: none
- 15. Forest Service: none
- 16. Farm Service Agency: none
- 17. New Mexico Environment Department: none
- 18. Water Quality Control Commission: none
- 19. National Association of Conservation Districts: Brent Van Dyke gave a report
- New Mexico Association of Conservation Districts: Brent Van Dyke gave a report for NMACD
- 21. New Mexico Coalition of Conservation Districts: none
- 22. NMSU College of Agriculture, Consumer and Environmental Sciences: none
- 23. New Mexico Conservation District Employees: none
- 24. Next Meeting: TBA

25. Adjourn: Commissioner Garcia moved to approve the minutes. Commissioner Glass seconded and the motion passed by all commissioners present (via roll call vote).